Poem: The Shade of Tree

Like this 

shade of tree, I would

like to be there whenever you

feel weary. When you feel like getting out

of the things that complicate your life. Like the

tree, I’ll be standing there and wait for you until you need my

shade again. I’ll stand still for you whenever you need something 

to hold on to. I’ll hold you with my branches whenever you feel down and

low, and offer you my fruits that would take away your hunger. 

I’ll try to listen to every story that you want to share… how your 

dreams were shattered.. and how the pain intrudes your soul. 

I’ll embrace you, to take away the blemishes in your heart.

My leaves will wipe away all the tears that you

feel inside. I’ll try to stand right by your 

side until the hurt fades away.

And when your

wounds start to

heal and can

stand on you

own, I’ll help 

you to find your

way again. I know

you will go and 

leave me behind 

to start another life.

But I’ll stand still and wait 

for you until you        need my shade again.

 

by: LeiWrites

Max’s Chicken Restaurant

My favorite family restaurant is no other than Max’s Chicken Restaurant, particularly the one in SM North Edsa, Level 2, SM City North EDSA, North Avenue cor. EDSA Quezon City, Philippines.

 

THAT SAME CORNER in Max’s Restaurant, in SM City North Edsa

Long before yesterday, I made a pact with myself that I’ll treat my family to a lunch or dinner-out once I get my salary. That deal came into being just yesterday night. It even became more special for me, for us, because we ate at the very same place and corner the last time we ate at that same restaurant just months ago. We started in a prayer thanking our Lord Jesus Christ for blessing us unconditionally. Though it is not fair, if we just think deeper into the sense that our Father in Heaven gives so much to us even if were are undeserving little creatures here on earth, He would still provide us with so much. I learned that unconditional love from my God through the parents He blessed me with, although I can really say I may not be perfectly doing it, but through God’s grace I am continuously learning.

That day and all of those more than twenty years I spent with my parents, makes me realize that God blessed me with a great family. We are a typical Filipino Family, we may not be perfect… of course we disagree… sometimes fight and say some regretful words to each other but after that… when that storm subsides… I believe that we will be all right because I will always go home to them. Nothing can ever change that fact. I have learned through them that it is important to know one’s roots… but they also help me use my wings to fly. I belong to that genre of people who would prefer to stay home than explore the malls and bar around the greater Manila… and I am proud to be a member of “the club.” I would much rather hang out with “my friends, my tropa” who stay home with me.

From time to time I wish moments would freeze so that things, situations would stay just the way they are. I maybe selfish if I say that I hope I want us to stay close together and no one ever leaves the house 🙂 … for our family to always be complete every Sunday afternoon at the table talking about politics, religion, economy and the simplest things about the man I saw in Sta. Cruz or Justice Corona’s ongoing impeachment… I want all of those things to stay and not ever be stirred… but that’s just me. I’ll leave my family to the all knowing God who gave them to me… And I will forever be grateful for every memory I have spent and will spend with them.

Through this voyage, at times when I am alone or perhaps when those moments come when I feel alone or even when I am peacefully just watching the thick velvet night sky above… I will be pondering about who I am and will remember that same precious special corner I shared and spent with my family.

MAX’S IS GREAT FOR FAMILIES

Max’s Chicken Restaurant is not just a place to eat, it’s one of my favorite things on earth because the place is where I have great memories with my family. I will always carry in my heart episodes of conversations and bondings with my parents and siblings, over their delicious dishes, most especially the sinigang na hipon, sizzling tofu, crispy pata and of course the timeless and ever beautiful Max’s Chicken.

Related Sites:

Foodcards

http://www.inquirer.net/

My Trips and Travels

Article: The Bible

An old wise man once said, “There are three kinds of books. Good books. Superior books. Great books. Good books inform. Superior books inform and entertain. Great books… change lives.”

 I just can’t imagine a life without it. I am not ashamed that my life’s principles are based on the wisdom embedded in this Holy Book of Life. It is my source of strength. The bible lights my path, especially when I am about to cross dark alleys and corners of this world’s confusing avenues. The Bible simply gives my life direction. I find refuge in the pages empowered by knowledge and wisdom. No wonder it is the most published book in the entire universe. It speaks of the truth… and if we are wise to seek wisdom in its precious pages, it will truly set our hearts free.

 Above all, the Bible is a love letter to the beloved from the Greatest Lover of Souls… Jesus Christ.

My life’s worth and purpose is found in Him alone.

Related Sites:

Biblegateway

Benny Hinn Ministries

Movie: Love Affair (1994)

The movie Love Affair in 1994 just captured my heart. Perhaps it was the drama of seeing Mike (Warren Beatty) silently wait on top of the Empire State Building with rainshowers and thunderstorms. It was heartbreaking witnessing the used-to-be-playboy wait in the rain with the painting for his beloved Terry (Annette Bening). He kept waiting and waiting. She was not there.

It was indeed a love affair. One of the highlights of the movie was when Mike’s aunt Ginny (Katharine Hepburn), played an  instrumental (Love Affair by Ennio Morricone ) while the two visit her on a paradise-like island.

I have seen the film at least 20 times now. It’s one of my favorite movies because it shows how faith holds a person together for that one soul on the other side of the rainbow. They just both waited, hoping for an opportunity, or in the hearts of their hearts praying that the heavens will conspire a plan to make them meet and fall in love again. Love Affair will totally make you dig deep into the beauty and wonder of having a broken heart forget, forgive and fall again.

 There is just the kind of love that will hit you once and for eternity.

 You may also watch Love Affair (1939 film) which is actually the original version of the movie and An Affair to Remember in 1957.